Operation Turquoise is the name of the U.N. Security Council approved unilateral French humanitarian operation in the latter phase of the genocide in Rwanda. France's actions during the genocide, including motivations behind Opération Turquoise have been subject to scrutiny and debate. Prior to UNAMIR and the genocide, France had a historical relationship with the government of Rwanda Republic which complicated efforts to assemble an African peacekeeping force perceived as neutral toward the warring factions during UNAMIR II, at the end of the genocide.
Operation Amaryllis is the name of the French non-combatant operation to evacuate European nationals from Rwanda during the genocide.
FranceArchives National Archives Portal
Rwanda Fonds (Resources) A broad description of the resources held within the France National Archives relating to Rwanda, 1990-1994, located at the Historic Archives Center (CHA) at the Chateau de Vincennes. The English translation refers to the Rwanda "funds" meaning the Rwanda fonds or Rwanda collection of materials. No digital resources available.
Vie Publique – Au couer du debat public (Translated as: Public Life – At the heart of public debate)
French government website created by the Directorate of Legal and Administrative Information (DILA), attached to the offices of the Prime Minister. A range of resources relating to French perspective on the Rwandan genocide including a 998 page English version a formal report submitted to the French President in 2021, prepared after researching the French Government Rwanda related archives.
Operation Scotch – Term for rescue mission of Canadian expatriates during the genocide.
Operation Lance – Canadian term for UNAMIR.
The United States Military Academy Library, in a groundbreaking collaboration with the Resnick Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies, is proud to feature the gift of the professional papers of Canadian Lieutenant-General Roméo A. Dallaire, Force Commander for UNAMIR, the U.N. Peacekeeping mission to Rwanda during the 1994 genocide. Use this LibGuide as an entry point to searching the archive holdings, digitized content from the archive, annotated books donated to USMA by General Dallaire, and other circulating materials within the library collection. The guide also links to background information about General Dallaire, his professional work related to Rwanda, as well as information on the United Nations and other groups that have memorialized the victims of the genocide and investigated or brought to justice some of the many perpetrators. Find other linked resources outside of the Dallare papers holdings at USMA such as recorded interviews with Canadian Broadcasting and International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR) Records and to learn more about the history of the events surrounding the doomed peacekeeping mission and the participation of nation states belonging to the United Nations.
USMA Library has a large collection of books and ebooks as well as DVDs about the Rwandan genocide. Click on any book cover to be directed to USMA Library's Rwandan Genocide Research Guide.
Post-Genocide Perspectives
Christianity and the Genocide
Women
Justice and Rebuilding
Memoirs and Interviews
Rwandan History
Genocide Studies
The Media
Colonialism and Politics
(1) Roméo Dallaire: Back in Canada to face his demons
September 8, 1994 | Archives | Duration 3:35
A shattered Dallaire returns from Rwanda and begins to share his memories of the massacre.
(2) Rwanda: Autopsy of a genocide
November 29, 1994 | Archives | Duration 8:44
A documentary look into how early warnings of violence in Rwanda were ignored by the world.
(3) Rwanda, on the edge of horror
September 29, 1997 | Archives | Duration 11:32
An examination of the critical weeks and months leading up to the 1994 genocide in Rwanda. WARNING: This clip features graphic images. Interview with Roméo Dallaire courtesy Vision TV.
(4) The making of a general, Roméo Dallaire
April 12, 2000 | Archives | Duration 3:01
A look at Dallaire's life and career before his fateful peacekeeping mission in Rwanda.
(5) Lt.-Gen. Romeo Dallaire recalls genocide in Rwanda in 2003
October 24, 2003 | Archives | Duration 17:52
Recalling the horror and failure of the Rwanda peacekeeping mission. Aired Oct.24, 2003 on CBC's The National.
(6) Roméo Dallaire rehabilitated
December 2, 2003 | Archives | Duration 16:04
Dallaire's account of his time in Rwanda becomes a best-seller and helps rehabilitate him in the process. WARNING: This clip features graphic images. Clip from Witness the Evil used courtesy of the Canadian Department of National Defence.
(7) Dallaire back in Rwanda to testify against old foes in 2004
April 5, 2004 | Archives | Duration 8:50
Roméo Dallaire travels back to Africa to testify against his old foes at a special UN criminal tribunal. Aired April 5, 2004 on CBC's The National.
(8) Anniversary of the genocide in Rwanda in 2004
April 7, 2004 | Archives | Duration 2:18
A news report looks at the ceremonies, and the emotions, on hand for the 10th anniversary of the genocide in Rwanda. Aired April 7, 2004 on CBC's The National.
(9) 'Shake Hands With The Devil' hits the big screen
January 31, 2005 | Archives | Duration 5:22
George Stroumboulopoulos sits down with Romeo Dallaire to talk about his experiences during the making of the award-winning documentary film "Shake Hands with the Devil: The Journey of Roméo Dallaire" produced by White Pine Pictures, CBC and Radio-Canada.
(10) Roméo Dallaire appointed senator
March 24, 2005 | Archives | Duration 7:42
Roméo Dallaire discusses his latest role as a Liberal senator.
(11) Interview: Lt.-Gen. Romeo Dallaire (Ret.'d)
October 30, 2009 | News | Duration 6:31
Gillian Findlay interviews Lt.-Gen. Romeo Dallaire (Ret.'d).
(12) Ask me anything
November 11, 2010 | News | Duration 7:25
Retired lieutenant-general Romeo Dallaire takes your questions
(13) Romeo Dallaire
September 14, 2012 | News | Duration 22:49
Humanitarian and senator Romeo Dallaire, in town for the IAWP, talks about current world crises
(14) Dallaire and 'The Blue Berets'
March 7, 2013 | News | Duration 8:15
Senator Roméo Dallaire remembers playing a recording of Stompin' Tom Connors' song 'The Blue Berets' to keep up troop morale during the Rwandan genocide
(15) Romeo Dallaire documentary
April 27, 2013 | News | Duration 4:08
Senator Romeo Dallaire comments on his role in the documentary Fight Like Soldiers, Die Like Children
May 28, 2014 | News | Duration 19:11
Liberal senator shares personal reflections about the Senate, Rwanda and his retirement from Parliament with the CBC's Evan Solomon
(17) Romeo Dallaire's Resignation
May 29, 2014 | News | Duration 2:51
Point of View: Rex Murphy's thoughts on the retired general's high-profile departure from the Senate
(18) Dallaire's battle with PTSD
October 23, 2016 | News |Duration12:31
Roméo Dallaire opens up about his ongoing struggle with PTSD and discusses his new book on the topic: "Waiting for First Light"
(19) Romeo Dallaire reveals his 22-year struggle with PTSD since witnessing the Rwandan genocide
October 27, 2016 | Radio | Duration 27:21
Romeo Dallaire not only saw the horrors of the genocide in Rwanda up close. He - a Canadian general there representing the UN - could do nothing to stop it. That was 22 years ago. And he is still mentally wounded. He tells that story in his new memoir.
(20) Lt.-Gen. Romeo Dallaire pens new book describing his 'Ongoing Battle With PTSD'
November 21, 2016 | News | Duration 12:14
Canadian General Romeo Dallaire was in Rwanda in 1994 as part of a UN Peacekeeping mission. What he witnessed haunts him to this very day. Now he's written a book about his post-traumatic stress disorder and the impact its had on his life.
May 4, 2017 | News | Duration1 0:53
Lack of sleep, PTSD contributed to Liberal senator's car crash on Parliament Hill Tuesday
(22) Canada stalls on peacekeeping mission
September 13, 2017 | News | Duration 9:52
'Delaying it too long makes it that more difficult for the forces to prepare,' says retired general Romeo Dallaire.
(23) 'He went for the chocolate. I pushed the gun aside.'
November 15, 2017 | News | Duration 9:23
Retired Lieutenant-General Romeo Dallaire recounts his experience encountering a child soldier in Rwanda, and how the federal government is now leading a push to prevent the recruitment and use of child soldiers.
(24) PTSD animated: Roméo Dallaire on dealing with the trauma of witnessing genocide
January 17, 2018 | Arts | Duration 1:24
Artist Gustavo Rondón Linares animates a clip from CBC Radio’s As It Happens in which retired general Roméo Dallaire describes his struggle with post-traumatic stress disorder.
(25) Roméo Dallaire on new Mali peacekeeping mission
March 19, 2018 | News |Duration 7:16
'The Canadian mission will be deemed successful by the troops they are supporting,' says the retired Lieutenant General and founder of the Roméo Dallaire Child Soldiers Initiative.
(26) 'A large part of my soul is still in Rwanda': Romeo Dallaire
April 5, 2019 | Radio | Duration1:14
Dallaire talks to Michael Enright about his struggle with post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).
(27) Dallaire on refugee crisis
October 8, 2019 | News | Duration 10:38
Romeo Dallaire says Canada can and should take in 90-thousand Syrian refugees
(28) Roméo Dallaire says Canada should reject isolationism
February 11, 2020 | News | Duration 7:42
Retired Lt.-Gen. Roméo Dallaire says Canada must do more to engage with the world.
(29) Full interview with retired Lieutenant-General Roméo Dallaire
March 10, 2021 | News | Duration 12:41
Retired Lieutenant-General Roméo Dallaire told Power & Politics Wednesday that he agrees with the newly published report that concludes that China is conducting a genocide against its Uighur population. Dallaire urged the Canadian government to play a leading role in building a coalition of like-minded allies to respond to China's alleged human rights abuses.
(30) If Russia succeeds what example will that set around the world?
February 24, 2022 | News | Duration 7:22
Retired Lt.-Gen. Roméo Dallaire joins Power & Politics to discuss Russia's invasion of Ukraine.
(31) 'The day that the Russians crossed the border is the day that we failed': Roméo Dallaire
March 16, 2022 | News |Duration 7:38
"It's absolutely horrific," said retired Lt.-Gen. Roméo Dallaire of Russia's war on Ukraine. "I'm just watching people getting slaughtered...and their country destroyed...I was there thirty years ago doing exactly the same thing and I got the exact same response. Nobody came."
