USMA Library Homepage: SciFinder-n: SciFinder-n

Getting Started

In March 2021, USMA Library transitioned from SciFinder to SciFinder-n. SciFinder-n provides many of the same search capabilities as SciFinder with a new search interface. This guide is intended to introduce users to the SciFinder-n platform.

Transitioning from SciFinder to SciFinderⁿ

If you already have a SciFinder account, you will be able to log in to SciFinderⁿ via the new platform and do not need to set up a new account. If you are new to SciFinder, set up an account using this link: (You must be on campus or VPN for this link to work.)

https://origin-scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=149CE361-86F3-5055-2295-531DE19FEEE3

Click on the SciFinder Registration link above
Click on "Next" to continue with the registration
Click "Accept" to accept the terms of use
Fill in the required information

Key Features

SciFinder-n provides access to a variety of different sources of chemical information. Here are a few of the features you may find helpful:

Structure Searching - Draw or upload structures to perform exact, substructure, or similarity searches
Substance Searching - Find chemical information by keyword CAS registry numbers or patent number.
Reaction Searching
Reference Search
Retrosynthesis Planning
Citation Mapping

SciFinder-n Key Features Flyer
PDF with a quick overview of new features to SciFinder-n.

Using SciFinder-n

CAS provides training resources to help you get started with many of the key features of SciFinder-n. Their guide includes videos on topics like structure searching, reaction searching, finding patent information, and more.

SciFinderⁿ Training

FAQs, videos, and other training resources provided by CAS.

SciFinderⁿ Webinars

Upcoming webinars and recorded webinars hosted by CAS.

Quick Reference Guide

A quick guide to getting started with SciFinder-n.
Saved Search Migration

Quick instructions on how to migrate your saved searches from SciFinder to SciFinder-n.

SciFinder-n Topical Help

Videos included are:

You can find other short, targeted training materials on using SciFinder-n here.

Databases Included in SciFinder-n

Databases Included:

CAPlus - bibliographic entries from Chemical Abstracts back to 1907. Over 1,500 core chemical journals are included, as well as patents, books, conference proceedings, etc. Link out to Find It @ UT to connect to electronic full text or check for print holdings.
MEDLINE - bibliographic entries in the medical sciences back to 1949
CAS REGISTRY - Chemicals and biochemical sequences searchable by name, number, formula, or structure, with experimental and predicted property data.
CHEMLIST - Registry of regulated chemicals.
CHEMCATS - Chemical supplier catalogs.
CASREACT - Individually indexed reaction schemes back to 1840.
MARPAT - Searchable Markush structures from patents covered by CAS from 1988.
CIN (Chemical Industry Notes) - bibliographic entries from chemical industry trade publications from 1974.

A table showing the full contents of SciFinder-n is available on the CAS website.

Credits

Brunner, Karen M. at University of St. Thomas Libraries provided the template for this LibGuide.