USMA Library Homepage: Geography and Environmental Engineering: Human-Environmental Geography

Welcome to Human-Environmental Geography

Natural Resources Environment Development

Emphasizing the interaction between humans and their environment, this major is a blend of natural science and social science courses including a regional geography course to learn about the cultures of other regions of the world. Thinking like a geographer, courses focus on how humans modify the environment to fit their needs, and conversely, how the pressures of the environment shape human lives. Understanding the relationship between humans and the natural world will prepare cadets for their Army Career and beyond in vital governmental agencies from the EPA to the National Parks Service and National Intelligence Agency, renewable energy corporations, conservation organizations, and even the top tier of global politics.

Databases

JSTOR (includes Books on JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and books in a wide range of disciplines.
User's Guide: https://support.jstor.org/hc/en-us/articles/360000063528-An-Introduction-to-Searching-on-JSTOR
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal collection providing full text access to current and archived content from over 500 titles. USMA Library Subscribes to a limited number of books through Project Muse. If you find a title of interest, please search for it in SCOUT.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of databases, many with full text. Chose to search one database or search all.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Discover ebooks and peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. It contains indexing, abstracts, and tables of contents for over 2,500 journals and over 35,000 ebooks.

Websites

Digital Commons Network
Dimensions: Human Geography
- Dimensions covers millions of research publications connected by more than 1.8 billion citations, supporting grants, datasets, clinical trials, patents and policy documents.
DOAJ: Geography, Anthropology, and Recreation
- DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
European Commission: Energy, Climate change, Environment
- EU policy protects the environment and seeks to minimise risks to climate, human health and biodiversity. The European Green Deal aims to make Europe the world’s first climate-neutral continent, in part by developing cleaner sources of energy and green technologies.
Geodiode - The Ultimate Resource for World Climate and Biomes
- Geodiode on Youtube
Institution for Economics and Peace
- The IEP creates research, which is used extensively by governments, academic institutions, think tanks, non‑governmental organisations and by intergovernmental institutions such as the OECD, The Commonwealth Secretariat, the World Bank and the United Nations.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
- The OECD is at the heart of international co-operation. Our Member countries work with other countries, organisations and stakeholders worldwide to address the pressing policy challenges of our time. Including work on establishing evidence-based international standards and finding solutions to a range of social, economic and environmental challenges.
United Nations - One place where the world's nations can gather together, discuss common problems and find shared solutions.
- Climate Action
- Global Issues
  - As the world’s only truly universal global organization, the United Nations has become the foremost forum to address issues that transcend national boundaries and cannot be resolved by any one country acting alone.
- Sustainable Development Goals
  - provides a shared blueprint for peace and prosperity for people and the planet, now and into the future. At its heart are the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), which are an urgent call for action by all countries - developed and developing - in a global partnership.
U.S. Department of State
World Health Organization
- Dedicated to the well-being of all people and guided by science, the World Health Organization leads and champions global efforts to give everyone, everywhere an equal chance to live a healthy life. The WHO directs and coordinates the world’s response to health emergencies.
World Nuclear Association
- The Association’s mission is to promote a wider understanding of nuclear energy among key international influencers by producing authoritative information, developing common industry positions, and contributing to the energy debate.