Department of History

Databases for American History

USMA Library subscribes to over 100 history-related databases 

The following suggestions are intended to help you get started.

Databases - Primary Sources

• ProQuest Newspapers - Full text collection of a wide range of current and historical American newspapers.
• America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1956  - Includes thousands of titles from all 50 states chronicling the evolution of American culture and society through eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries, and much more. Contains images and full-text content access to historic newspapers.
• Founders Online - Discover correspondence and other writings of six major shapers of the United States, namely George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, James Madison. Includes over 119,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the Founding Fathers Papers projects.
•  Issues & Controversies in History - Users will find background, outcome, and contemporary points of view for every major debate and conflict in history. Topics are presented in a pro/con format that clearly explains both sides of the historical dispute, each article is supported by a timeline and a wealth of primary sources.

Databases - Secondary Sources 

• EBSCOhost Provides access to a wide range of databases, many with full text. Chose to search one database or search all.
• JSTOR - Provides access to scholarly journals and books in a wide range of disciplines 
• Cambridge Histories Online - This collection consists of over 300 volumes from the Cambridge Histories series. The volumes are grouped by specific subject areas, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical topics.