Primary Sources for HI302
The West Point Guide to the Campaigns of World War II: Normandy
- The collection of primary sources (sometimes called the primary source packet, the Rowan Reader, or other names) provided by the West Point History Department is the best place to find primary sources of your HI302 paper.
Digitized Primary Sources
- Infantry Student Papers
- This collection of personal experience monographs and student papers describe combat operations, actions and campaigns of some of the fiercist fighting fought in Ardennes, Normandy, Rhineland, the Philippine Islands and others.
- Armor Student Papers
- The following student papers consist of personal experiences and research of combat operations and actions, battles and campaigns fought by Armor Soldiers in various wars.
- CGSC Papers
- Post World War II papers written by students during their time at the Command and General Staff College. These papers were written for course requirements and do not fit into the SAMS monographs or CGSC theses collections.
- Operational Documents
- During WW II the Command and General Staff Colleges primary mission was to train large numbers of captains and majors to be staff officers in battalions, brigades, divisions, and corps. To that end, the Army provided copies of documents produced by field units to the College. Operations orders, after action reports, intelligence analyses, logistics appraisals, and similar documents are in the CARL documents collection. Primary focus will be on documenting operations at the tactical and operational levels of warfare.
- Digitized Unit Records
- This historical paper collection of After-Action Reports, Case Studies, Unit Actions dates from pre-World War II to post Vietnam.
- Donovan Research Library Historical Microfilm Documents Collection
- This historical microfilm collection of After-Action Reports, Case Studies, Unit Actions dates from pre-World War II to post Vietnam
- German Officer Narratives
Non-Digitized Primary Sources
- Reel-by-reel inventory of 4th Infantry Division documents on microfilm
- USMA Library holds on microfilm a large collection of original records (AARs, periodic reports, journal files, et. al.) of the 4th Infantry Division and its subordinate units
- The microfilm collection is located in the 2nd Floor Periodicals Area. See a library staff member for assistance locating the material and using the microfilm readers.
