USMA Library Homepage: English and World Languages: World Languages

I need to find sources for my research. How do I...

View tutorials on how to search library resources

Learn about how to search for books using Scout

Find a book

Learn about how to search for books using Scout

Physically locate a book in the library

Locate the call number and learn where to find it in Jefferson Hall

Find and use an eBook

Learn how to limit the search to find ebooks, and how to use them on your computer, tablet, or phone

Reserves

Find books placed on Reserve by your instructor. Search by course number (ex. "HI 108") or your instructor's name.

Find a scholarly or peer-reviewed journal

Learn how to search Scout (searches almost all resources together so you don’t have to search individual databases)

Find a database

Scout includes most, but not all, of the databases and materials we subscribe to. Find all databases that the USMA Library subscribes to with links to access the content.

Find a source the library doesn’t have

Try searching Scout first. If it's not available, then use ILL – InterLibrary Loan (WorldCat).

Archives & Special Collections

Learn about original resources (such as letters, photos, rare books, and the official records of USMA) that are available in person or online

Digital Collections

Digitized collections including books, manuscripts, and photographs documenting the history of West Point and its alumni. Learn how to use the digital collections.

Athena: USMA Scholarship

Find scholarship from USMA faculty and staff; including articles, books, presentations, and posters

Streaming Video

Access streaming video sources and learn how the various sources of content can be used

Newspaper Subscriptions

Learn how to activate your subscription to the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and how to access a digital version of the Army Times.

Suggested Databases

These Databases are subscribed to by USMA Library. If you are having any difficulty in accessing content, please contact the Library Help Desk.

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
The American Council of Learned Societies Humanities Ebook Collection is a collection of over 5,700 scholarly books, from over 125 publishers.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Explore a major multi-disciplinary index for the study of East, Southeast, and South Asia. It contains citations for Western-language journal articles, review articles, conference proceedings, chapters in edited volumes, and Festschrift published worldwide that relate to the study of Asia. The database aims to cover a broad range of subjects, with a special focus on the humanities and social sciences. Some of the subjects covered include anthropology, art, economics, history, language, literature, political science, religion, and sociology.
BrowZine This link opens in a new window
Discover journal content from multiple publishers and platforms. You can create MyBookshelf to save your favorite journals.

For more information go to https://library.westpoint.edu/JournalSearching
Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Browse the economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Users can also find the contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including 1,900 international organizations.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
Discover translated transcripts of foreign radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements. The reports are from 1974-1996 and contain political, military, economic, environmental, and sociological news and information.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of millions of scanned books and other publications. Allows searching of the complete texts of a wide range of books. Login with westpoint.edu credentials to enable enhanced downloading.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 2,500 journals, with full text for more than 300.
Jane's This link opens in a new window
Source for information on defense, geopolitics, weapons systems, and security. Login with your westpoint.edu email address.
Jane's Terrorism and Insurgency Intelligence Centre This link opens in a new window
News, exclusive features, detailed reference and an interactive terrorist events database. Login with your westpoint.edu email address.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Explore an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
A to Z Maps Online This link opens in a new window
Explore this database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps.

Language Resources

Suggested Web Resources

These resources are outside of USMA, but they still contain valuable information. They can be searched for a variety of topics; results can then be narrowed by language, area, or country.

Please note that the resources listed in this section are hosted by groups separate from the USMA Library. The USMA Library can NOT guarantee access or resolve connection issues to these resources.

Instructor Resources

These resources are not limited to instructors, though instructors may find them more useful than Cadets.

Applied Language Learning
CALICO Journal (equinoxpub.com) (Computer Assisted Language Instruction Consortium)
Computer Assisted Language Learning Journal
Digital Commons Network: Linguistics
Digital Commons Network: Translation Studies
Dimensions: Language, Communication, and Culture
DOAJ the Directory of Open Access Journals
FLTmag IALLT's Free Language Technology Magazine
IALLT or International Association for Language Learning Technology
Language Learning: A Journal of Research in Language Studies
The Language Learning Journal
Linguistic Bibliography Online
U.S. Think Tanks - Think Tank Search - Research Guides at Harvard Library
- Non-U.S. Think Tanks by Region - Think Tank Search - Research Guides at Harvard Library
- These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. Inclusion is based upon the relevancy of subject area to HKS coursework and scholarship, the availability of the think tank’s research in full-text on the website, and the think tank’s reputation and influence upon policy making. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.
World Trade Organization: Resources
- Trilingual Linguistic Resources

West Point Center for Oral History:

Assessing and Countering the Threat of Terrorism
- Liam Collins
A Hungarian Officer on Leadership, Service, and Multinational Operations
- Sándor Farkas
Doing "Lawrence of Arabia" Stuff: A Non-Traditional Career Leads to the USMA Department of Foreign Languages
- Greg Ebner
"Hold the Door Open for Others": A Conversation on Immigration, Identity, and Success in the Army
- Brigid Osei-Bobie
International Cadet Experiences:
- Changing the World: Opportunities for Growth Through Exchange
  - Thomas Koizumi and Kiana Stewart
- "It's Good": The Bright Side of West Point for a Cadet from Kosovo
  - Ylli Daladaku
- "People, Relationships, Family, Traditions": Appreciate the Little Things
  - Arelena Shala
- Pursuing Diverse Experiences at West Point and in Life
  - Aaron Li
- The Making of an American: A Pakistani Immigrant's Journey Through Citizenship to West Point
  - Aaqib Ayed

Please note that the resources listed in this section are hosted by groups separate from the USMA Library. The USMA Library can NOT guarantee access or resolve connection issues to these resources.

Other Beneficial Resources

These resources may require you to log-in or create an account, instructions are linked.

Overdrive/ Libby for eBooks and magazines - Instructions.
Kanopy for video streaming and more!
Mango Languages
- Use a browser other than Internet Explorer. Create a profile/account while in the desktop version. Download entire lessons to access while offline. Logging in to your profile will sync your progress.
New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Etc. - Instructions

Other Institutions

Modern Language Association
- NEMLA Northeast Modern Language Association
New York Public Library
- SimplyE app linked to NYPL account has eBooks and Audiobooks in a variety of languages.
- Naxos Music Library app includes over 2 million musical tracks that you can stream to your device.
- Projectr a streaming platform for watching independent films from around the world.
- World Literature Festival shines a spotlight on books, writers, artists, and thinkers from around the globe and reflects some of the many languages spoken in NYC's diverse communities.
DOD MWR Libraries - Instructions .

Please note that the resources listed in the "Other Institutions" section are hosted by groups separate from the USMA Library. The USMA Library can NOT guarantee access or resolve connection issues to these resources.

English as a Second Language Resources

American English
This website is a resource center for teaching and learning about American English and American culture developed by the Office of English Language Programs in Washington, D.C. All programs are implemented by Regional English Language Officers (RELOs) at American Embassies or Consulates.
English as a Second Language: A Resource Guide
This research guide provides a survey of materials held by the Library of Congress relating to English as a second language (ESL), which is also known as English as a foreign language (EFL) or English for speakers of other languages (ESOL).

Other Language Resources

DATABÁZE VŠKP
University qualification theses at the rague University of Economics and Business, Prague.
DigitalNZ
Search 30+ million New Zealand items across 300+ collections in one place. Easy.
ETH Zurich Library
Search bibliographic databases, read specialist articles in e-journals, find out the latest news in current daily newspapers, and explore the historical holdings of the ETH Library on screen: The ETH Library offers you access to extensive electronic media for study and research.
NORA (Norwegian Open Research Archive)
Open access scholarly communication of Norway can be searched via the Norwegian Open Research Archive (NORA). A national repository consortium, BIBSYS Brage, operates shared electronic publishing system on behalf of 56 institutions.
OJS (Open Journal Systems) at ELTE
OJS (Open Journal Systems) is a journal management system. It is an open source, which is free to install and use, in addition, it supports Open Access publications of journals.