United States Military Academy Library


Faculty: Digital Resources & Access

Digital Resource Highlights

In addition to the ebooks and journal articles that are accessible using the Scout search tool, we have many other resources to support instruction. Additional ebooks are available through ConnectNY to enhance our ebook collection.

Multiple streaming platforms are available, including Academic Video Online with almost 70,000 videos available with public performance rights included. JoVE is a peer-reviewed, scientific video journal that combines high-quality video demonstrations of experiments with detailed text protocols for the undergraduate level.

 Learn where to publish using Cabells, a resource for journal info, evaluation metrics, predatory reports, and submission details.

We are also now members of the HathiTrust.

Finding Resources

I need to find sources for my research. How do I...

Find a book

Learn about how to search for books using Scout

Physically locate a book in the library

Locate the call number and learn where to find it in Jefferson Hall

Find and use an ebook

Learn how to limit the search to find ebooks, and how to use them on your computer, tablet, or phone

Reserves

Find books placed on Reserve by your instructor. Search by course number (ex. "HI 108") or your instructor's name.

Find a scholarly or peer-reviewed journal

Learn how to search Scout (searches almost all resources together so you don’t have to search individual databases)

Find a database

Scout includes most, but not all, of the databases and materials we subscribe to. Find all databases that the USMA Library subscribes to with links to access the content.

Newspaper Subscriptions

Learn how to activate your subscription to the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post, and how to access a digital version of the Army Times.

Learn how to find a source West Point doesn’t have

Try ConnectNY first, if it's not available then use ILL – InterLibrary Loan. To see everything that is available in all libraries, visit WorldCat and also use ILL to request the items. 

Archives & Special Collections

Learn about original resources (such as letters, photos, rare books, and the official records of USMA) that are available in person or online

Digital Collections

Digitized collections including books, manuscripts, and photographs documenting the history of West Point and its alumni. Learn how to use the digital collections.

USMA Digital Commons

Find scholarship from USMA faculty and staff; including articles, books, presentations, and posters

Streaming Video

Access streaming video sources and learn how the various sources of content can be used

Cadets, Staff & Faculty

USMA-issued laptops will have a VPN software client installed. When you are using the library website from a laptop connected through VPN, you will be able to access all resources as if you were physically at West Point.